top of page
  • Writer's pictureElaine

Summer Season on the Seafront by Katie Ginger


 

★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆


I first knew about Katie Ginger through her book The Secrets of Meadow Farmhouse. I really liked the story. It was 5 stars through and through. So how could I resist giving another of her book a go?


While the concept of this book is fascinating (who doesn't like a group of people who takes part in community plays just for the fun of it?), the execution and plot bring down the overall story. From the very beginning, introducing our two MCs, Sarah and Nate, already includes a whole load of info-dump. To make things worse, there are overlaps amidst this info-dumping. It's really not a good start; it's weak, and the experience was not enjoyable. I thought things would only get better from here, but... no.


There are more words describing how Sarah and Nate loved each other more than their actions. Oh, Nate could feel an attraction towards her; oh, how handsome Nate looks to Sarah; that sizzle where they touched... the build-up was not perceptible, making this romance dreary. I was not at all convinced that they loved each other, even if they did confess their love for one another at the end. More than half the time, we read about Sarah pining for Finn. That revelation that she actually felt something for Nate near the end was unnatural.


I stand by what I said about the concept being really interesting though. I learnt a lot about all the work required to ensure that a play went smoothly; the dynamics and the roles of different people; the amount of time. I felt tired for them, but also excited. I used to be in drama, so I could empathise with them. Ginger managed to write these parts really well. I also liked all the other characters who are part of the Greenley Players. On top of this, Sarah and Nate have their own set of problems, which brings me to my next point: this book covers a lot of topics. From grief, to lost love, to friendship and trust. And most importantly, how we cannot always trust gossips. Just because there are a lot of rumours behind a scandal doesn't mean that these rumours that have gotten around are a hundred-percent true.


With all this said, there is a very low probability that I will be picking up any of her books again. It's saddening, but it is what it is.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page