top of page
  • Writer's pictureElaine

All About Evie by Cathy Lamb


 

★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆


I stopped at 20%. I tried. Really. But after seven chapters of ramblings about other people's biography without progress on the plot, I've had enough. See the blurb? It says there that the biggest revelation in this book is a DNA test that Evie's sister, Jules, will have. Well. 20% in, and still nothing. Jules hasn't even gotten married.


So there isn't really anything much I can do about giving my own summary of this story. Yes, Evie can see the future. They can be the good ones, and the bad. It's the bad ones that leave terrible imprints on Evie's life. She tries her best to prevent these events, but she cannot always succeed. Her mental health takes a turn for the worse, and that's when she has her first dog (and then her alpacas, and her horses — all of whom, Evie did not hesitate to let us know, are rescue animals). It's great that the author touches on these mental issues that anyone with this power could possibly have. That's real nice character development there, including how she got over it. The book could have stopped there. Why keep dwelling on the past when what readers like me yearn to know are the events happening in the present? Instead, it chose to go down the route of a lot of flashbacks / diverting our attention to other characters in the book. It's repetitive, and these random biographies of characters jumps. Just read chapter 7, and you'll learn all about Evie's grandmother, her mother and her aunts. The transitions are also very confusing. At one point in time Evie will talk about one thing, and before completing it, the scene jumps to another.


Honestly, it's like a bunch of rambles that I have no interest in. I wanted a contemporary with a little twist, but I'm left highly disappointed and bored. I also felt that the writing style was a little awkward. Maybe it's because it's an ARC, and that a lot of editing has to be done, maybe it's not. Whatever it is, I still think it deserves a 1-star rating.


This review is written based on the ARC provided by the publisher through Netgalley.

0 comments
bottom of page