top of page
  • Writer's pictureElaine

Silver Borne (Mercy Thompson #5) by Patricia Briggs


Silver Borne (Mercy Thompson #5) by Patricia Briggs

 

★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆


I got reminded of this series on my (Goodreads) timeline and thought it was about time I got back to it. More than a year of break from it — how could I do that after having enjoyed the past four installments so much? Apparently, I could. And I probably wouldn't mind going that long without the next one from now on.


Silver Borne, the fifth to the Mercy Thompson series, is about the book that Phin lent Mercy in Bone Crossed. I can't remember what it was for, but it doesn't matter, because there's something more pressing in this one: a powerful fae is trying to obtain it. There's something about fae magic that is dangerous, and Mercy has to be careful when it comes down to it. Meanwhile, Samuel continues to struggle with depression, and his wolf as a result. Mercy works hard to cover it up for him, lest Bran, the Marrok and Samuel's father, thinks it's better for him to be dead.


I've got to admit. When I first started this book, I felt a thrill. I missed Mercy along with her friends, whether they be fae or werewolf — but especially werewolf. It took a while for me to remember who is who, but I got there in the end. Patricia Briggs also made it completely possible to make sure that readers of this book, who haven't yet touched the previous installments, can read this as a standalone. The world that the author has created is one-of-a-kind, and I love it, including her writing style (it's so easy to read and get into). Fae magic has also taken centre stage this time round, and I enjoyed it in her voice.


But the plot. The thing about fantastical plots is that it either goes this way or that way, and it's clear to me that Briggs just reuses the plot skeleton. What I can still remember in #4 is pretty much the same as the sequence of events in this one. Just change the vampires out for the fae, and there you have it. New book.


How dull.


Surprisingly, what irked me this time, too, is about how Adam is always the one 'saving the world'. You have no idea how many times Adam called for Mercy through their mating bond, knowing that she's in trouble, or thinking that she's in trouble. And there he goes barging wherever, intending to save her. Yes, it's sweet, because it shows how much he loves her, but I don't remember it being so overused in previous books. I also think I like it better before Mercy and Adam's relationship became so solid. Mercy seems more capable before that. No dominant male appearing out of nowhere all the time, covering up her womanly strength.


And really, dominant werewolves have got to keep their temper and testosterone in check. It's getting repetitive, always having Mercy to be on guard just in case one werewolf snaps and decides to start a fight.


So, while the front part of this book got me interested, even the back with some of its twists, I found it to be full of repetitions, and it got boring.

0 comments
bottom of page