top of page
  • Writer's pictureElaine

Sunshine Over Bluebell Castle (Bluebell Castle #2) by Sarah Bennett

Updated: Aug 8, 2019


 

★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆


I'm beginning to think it's time I be a little more cautious when it comes to picking out a book with a cover like this: so bright and eye-catching with cute illustrations. This is the second time in recent months that I was disappointed from what I hoped to be a romantic read. The potential just wasn't there.


Igraine 'Iggy' Ludworth has been working really hard on the gardens of Camland Castle. Ever since her brother Arthur had inherited it, it is essential that the Castle be restored as soon as possible, or their lack of financial resources would lead them into trouble. The deadline is getting nearer, and Iggy's to-do list continues to stay long. Eventually, she decides to ask Will Talbot, a gardener and a celebrity, for help. They started off on the wrong foot, but as they got to learn more about one another, love begins to bloom.


This whole book reminded me of my very bad experience with The Little Bookshop at Herring Cove. My expectations in the romance department just wasn't met. I felt nothing for this couple, and their interactions are sometimes so cheesy, it's awkward and absolutely unrealistic; it feels forced. And honestly, the more I got to learn about Will and Iggy, the more I disliked them. It all started with insta-lust, and there Will is trying to be gentlemanly, giving Iggy the time she needs to be more open in their relationship (or more of when she will share his bed), and then we find the next moment, him asking her when she is going to have sex with him. Pressure much? Then we also have Iggy being so unapologetic about her mistake at the end of the book. Of course we have a happily ever after, but the way the book handled Iggy's mistake, it's like it's trying to enforce the stereotype: the man always has to be the one to make up, to show his manliness and how much he deserves her.


Well, excuse me if I struggle to find anything healthy about this relationship.


The 2 stars are to praise the author's writing. I really like her flawless way of describing appearances and the goings-on. If only the plot and protagonists match up to her writing skills, this would have easily gotten a 4 or 5. I feel there isn't a lot of instances for Will and Iggy's relationship to build properly. However, I do like the other characters within the Ludworth family.


This review is written based on the ARC provided by the publisher through Netgalley. This book can be read as a standalone.

0 comments
bottom of page