top of page
  • Writer's pictureElaine

The Girl in the Maze by Cathy Hayward


 

★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆


Perhaps the writing style was not for me, but I didn't finish it because I couldn't get into it. It was compelling at first. I loved the descriptions used by the author. They are so vivid, and there isn't such a thing as going over details with sweet nothings; they can be as real as it can get. The blood, the pain from harming oneself, the poor conditions that one can live in. But the story seemed to drag. It was going between two time periods: Emma, and her grandmother Betty when she was young. Emma may be going through all the things in her mother's flat, but... the things she discovers are few and nothing much has been done to it even by the time I DNF this at 37%. And Betty's story I couldn't get into, because Jack, her husband, is wanting so much to have a child that it annoyed me to no end. It's like he's allowing this obsession to cloud his love for his wife.


This review is written based on the ARC provided by the publisher through Netgalley..

0 comments
bottom of page