top of page
  • Writer's pictureElaine

The Stationmaster’s Daughter by Kathleen McGurl


 

★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆


I had a difficult time deciding whether to give this a 3 or a 4. It would have been a 4 because of how interesting this story's concept is, but the frustration that just grew as I continued reading stands out a lot more than I would have liked, so there. 3 stars it is.


The Stationmaster's Daughter takes readers through two stories, interchanging between chapters. One is of Edward 'Ted' Morgan from 1935, and Tilly in the present time. While Ted finds love for the first time, Tilly is undergoing a disastrous divorce. But both their stories intersect at the very same railway station at Dorset. In the midst of healing, Tilly finds clues to what really happened to Ted Morgan so many decades ago. What was a wonderful love story at first became something darker, a blob in the many years that the railway station had operated for.


So, the 1930s — a time when women were still mostly relying on men for their livelihood. It shouldn't come as a surprise to me any longer, really, but everytime I read about powerless women having their lives dictated as if they were nothing else but objects in a historical fiction, I get riled up. Annie Galbraith had no choice (or did she?), but it was because of this very thing that led me to doubt her feelings for dear old Ted, and that was... terrible. I felt so much anger towards her and her circumstances that I began to believe that Ted deserved someone better. But who am I to judge? It is so difficult not to. And because this holds up the crux of the story, and so much of it, I cannot even begin to ignore its existence.


That said, were it not for the connection I feel towards Ted, such strong negative feelings would not have prevailed. That speaks a lot. Sweet old Ted is such a kind, gentle character that I cannot help but feel for him. We have first a lovesick man, then a man who faces a kind of uncertainty that is relatable, and yet unjustified for so good a person. I really enjoyed reading his side of the story. Whether he feels sad, angry or happy, I was with him all the way.


Tilly's story, however, is not as attractive to me. Perhaps it is because she is 39, and I have not reached the stage in life that is similar to hers, that tempts me to turn away whenever her chapters come on. Even so, I am most sympathetic by the reason for her divorce, and sincerely hope that no married woman in this world has to face such a situation in their life. Ever. A question that I have so recently contemplated on has never been more relevant as I read about Tilly's situation, and here I shall voice it out: what is so wrong about adopting a child? I also feel that the dialogues for Tilly's father and friend, Jo, are often pretty awkward to read, and that contributes to my 'aversion' to her chapters.


What is most significant as I read this story is learning about how Ted's life unfolded. There's a sense of mystery behind it (the prologue is everything!), and I love that. It may not be as intense as a pure mystery novel, but it's there for readers who enjoy a slice of life story that is tinged with intrigue.


This review is written based on the ARC provided by the publisher through Netgalley.

0 comments
bottom of page