top of page
  • Writer's pictureElaine

What the Wind Knows by Amy Harmon


 

★ ★ ★ ★ ☆


I almost can't find something I dislike about this book. The author's writing style is easy to get into too. But I can't deny the fact that I actually did skim some parts of it, so instead of the 5 I thought I would give readily, here's a 4.


Anne Gallagher grew up listening to her grandfather regale stories of Ireland, so it comes as no surprise when Anne is heartbroken upon his death. Following his wishes, Anne flies from America to Ireland to spread his ashes into a lake. There, she is pulled into another time: Ireland of 1921. What she's only read about becomes very real when everything unfolds in front of her eyes. She is taken under the care of Dr Thomas Smith, and mistaken as the mother of a young boy who is oddly familiar, she takes on that identity. She is soon embroiled in the events that led up to Ireland's independence. There is distrust and conflict all around, but she finds herself willingly taking part in it, if only she could stay beside Thomas. Secrets gradually unfold, and it is then that she learns more of the life her grandfather had led before during his stay in Ireland.


I shelved this first before I read The First Girl Child. For the record, I hated the book, so it took me a while to decide if I really, really wanted to read this book. I decided that every author deserves a second chance, and so I dived in. The experience I had was so much more different in this one, and more welcoming, than it was for The First Girl Child. I love it, from the history to the mysteries to the characters. It was so well planned out and well researched that I drank everything in right from the beginning. I've always felt a connection to the old stories of Ireland, so it was very interesting to learn about the history of that country. All characters are also well-developed, and I love Thomas and Anne so much, especially Thomas. He's not the typical male one would find in romance books. He's gentle, kind and loyal, not egoistical at all.


What I didn't like was how heavy politics has a part to play in this book. I found myself skipping a few pages just to get past those boring bits. Yes, history is my jam, but politics is a no-go. It was too content-heavy that they felt terribly dull.


Otherwise, this book was a joy to read. It's original, emotional and informative. Highly recommended to all.

0 comments
bottom of page