top of page
  • Writer's pictureElaine

Beyond a Darkened Shore by Jessica Leake


 

★ ★ ★ ★ ★


I will never tire of stories written with mythology entwined within. It was everything I expected, and more.


There has always been a struggle for power in the ancient land of Éirinn. The war between the Celts and the Northmen (the Vikings) have lasted for a long, long time. With the power that Ciara, the Princess of Mide, possess, the Celts have managed to stay safe — this dark power that Ciara's own people fear. Ciara's ability to control minds and actions have always been a part of her, and she knows not its origins. But a crow has been making mysterious appearances in front of her lately, and when it finally leads her to Leif, a Northman, she sees visions of such terror that even making allies with an enemy comes as an easy choice. Through their journey together, Ciara learns more about who she really is and the power of the old Gods.


First of all, this is the first time I came upon a book that mixes two forms of mythology: Celtic and Norse. Seeing it all come together really piqued my interest from beginning to end. The Gods and Goddesses even made their appearances in this one, and I really love that! I've already read a couple of amazing books based on the Vikings, and this element brought my reading experience to a whole new level.


With such fantastic world-building and plot, the only thing that could have ruined it was the characters. But even in that aspect, I have nothing to complain. Ciara and Leif are both so likeable, I constantly feel for them. The fluttering in my stomach was not missing, as well, when it came to the romance between the two of them. Their personalities comprise of such determination, courage and passion that anyone who saw them as unsuitable would be labelled ignorant. But to say that their characters are not realistic is something I would rebut. Ciara and Leif both have weaknesses of their own, and they make up for it through sheer perseverance and companionship. They know when to ask for help, and they know their limits.


I love it that the author took the time to build up this fantasy world; I love it that the author created characters with (good) substance. The plot, too, took me through so many surprises and was filled with so much action that I was never left bored. I look forward to reading another book by Jessica Leake!

0 comments
bottom of page