top of page
  • Writer's pictureElaine

In Darkest Days May Blossom by Leila Snow


 

☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆


Some may find it cumbersome, but trigger warnings are very important, in my opinion. The blurb definitely drew me in into what seemed to be possibly the most touching and wonderful kind of romance, but it didn't include details that could otherwise affect readers deeply.

Let me admit this: I am not strong enough to finish this book. I stopped reading at 27%.

Certainly, the skills of the author are fantastic for her readers to feel such strong emotions. That I cannot deny. Everything written seems so very real, and it is very easy for readers to sympathise with the dismal situations the characters had to go through. But, really, for a romance, the growth of it seems... too fast. There isn't much time dedicated for it to develop properly, and not even 30% in, the feelings they have for one another is already moulded to completion. That fact, accompanied with, surely, a continual onslaught of situations that are both realistic and absolutely horrifying, I couldn't bring myself to read this to the end.

Oh, the poor, poor girl... The image conjured through the author's vivid descriptions is going to stay in my mind for days.

This review is based on the ARC I received from Netgalley. No star was given because I did not finish this due to personal reasons.

0 comments
bottom of page