top of page
  • Writer's pictureElaine

Death and the Harlot (Lizzie Hardwicke #1) by Georgina Clarke


 

★ ★ ★ ★ ★


After given the chance to read an ARC of The Corpse Played Dead, finding the opportunity to read its prequel is a must. I loved the second book, and I'm glad I enjoyed this as well!


Lizzie Hardwicke is one of the prostitutes living with Mrs Farley at Soho. She is well protected in that house, and is better than most of her other counterparts who can only offer themselves on the streets. It isn't something she would have chosen for herself, but there is no choice, and Lizzie knows to count her blessings. Everyday that follows requires her to entertain men, until one day, one of them that visited is found brutally murdered. William Davenport, a constable, is on her at once, and is not afraid to let his suspicions known even if there is no evidence that proves her guilty. To ensure that her name is cleared, Lizzie decides to take matters into her own hands, makes a deal with Davenport, and becomes a detective.


Dear old Lizzie; how I've missed her. She is so strong, so smart and brave. Her heart, too, is in the right place, and she knows how to stand up for what's right even if it might land her in a little bit of trouble. I am extremely glad that there are men in this book who saw her for who she is inside rather than who she is based on her station. Bad men would have ignored her intelligence, belittled her, and put her in the gallows anyway, just because she is no one 'significant'. The times then are tough ⁠— but even tougher for women. We see the disparity clearly between nobles and the poor as well. Lizzie sees it too, and instead of wallowing in self-pity, screaming into the skies of such unfairness, she lives righteously and courageously, and I love that. But is she perfect? No, she isn't, and the author makes sure of it. I personally think that she can be a little too trusting sometimes...


And Davenport! I've missed him too. I got to see him as who he really is more in this than the second book. Though there are parts where I found him a tad bit annoying, the chemistry between him and Lizzie is hard to ignore. I certainly looked forward to any rare smiles and laughter from him, induced by the lady herself!


If there is going to be a third book (which I'm sure there will be), I'd love it if the torture ends here and now. The mystery in this one is so intriguing and complex, I never hoped to guess correctly who the murderer really is until they revealed themselves. Paired with such likeable characters, it is only natural that I anticipate what Georgina Clarke will come up with next, as you should!

0 comments
bottom of page