top of page
  • Writer's pictureElaine

Promised by Leah Garriott


 

★ ★ ★ ★ ★


I cannot believe how fast I flew through this. From the beginning, I could already tell that, if the characters are able to grow on me, that this would easily become a 5-stars read, and I am so glad that everything turned out really enjoyable! The vibe of it is just so different and refreshing compared to the usual historical romances that I've read.


Having her heart betrayed once before, Margaret Brinton has vowed never to let a man have her heart again. But that didn't mean that she never plans to wed, which is why she has allowed herself to be invited to a match-making party. Snaring the right man for a marriage of convenience is the route that she is determined to go on, and it is at this party where she will find him. Mr Northram seems like the right kind of man to help her in her endeavours. He's a rake, and he doesn't mind agreeing to that title. His honesty is exactly what Margaret wants, but his cousin, Lord Williams, couldn't leave her be, and before the party even ends, she is left insulted, her reputation slipping even lower in the eyes of society. Then, upon arriving home, she realises that her parents have agreed to a marriage between her and Lord Williams. What horror! But the more she spends time with him, the more she learns of what his personality truly is like beneath the arrogance that she has so labelled him with since their very first encounter. It is now up to Margaret to choose whether to continue guarding her heart, or to be set free forever.


The subtitle up there on the book cover, Proper Romance, was one of the reasons why I decided to give this a shot while browsing through Netgalley. The blurb was obviously the main reason why I requested it, but that subtitle there made me remember the book that pushed me to try historical fiction: A Heart Revealed by Josi S. Kilpack. I still believe it to be one of the best that I've ever read of that genre, and now I can add this to the list. I am so glad I took the chance, because I have tried reading other Proper Romance books, and they didn't come out as good, but this one did. It is not only 100% clean, it is also fun and heartfelt.


Written in the first person, we are allowed into Margaret's every thought. She is so witty. I especially enjoyed all the jokes that she and her brother come up with! Her voice reads easily, and is very personal, which means connecting with Margaret is certainly a smooth and quick process for me. Lord Williams is also very likeable once we get to learn a little more about him.


Other than the wonderful characters this book holds, there are also the thrills and twists that come with it. My heart flutters whenever Lord Williams and Margaret interacts as well, and that's a major plus, something that I always look for in romances.


I definitely look forward to other books this author has in store!


This review is written based on the ARC provided by the publisher through Netgalley.

1 comment
bottom of page