top of page
  • Writer's pictureElaine

The Corpse Played Dead (Lizzie Hardwicke #2) by Georgina Clarke


 

★ ★ ★ ★ ★


I can't get enough of historical mysteries. After completing The Venice Atonement, I knew I needed another. I was just browsing through Canelo publishing's page on Netgalley to see what else they have available, perhaps something else by Merryn Allingham again, when I saw this beautiful cover. And isn't the title absolutely intriguing?


The story is a little slow to start. It takes a pretty long while before the murder takes place. But the characters Georgina Clarke has created are so likeable and so full of substance, I could hardly complain. Lizzie Hardwicke is a prostitute working at Ma Farley’s Bawdy House in Soho. But she isn't just any prostitute: she's a popular one too. Two months ago, she helped in finding the murderer to a case, and since then she has earned herself quite a reputation. Despite that, she is pretty indifferent towards the change in her popularity. Then comes another case that Will Davenport, an inspector, needs her help with. She has managed to show him how useful she can be as one of low status, and he has returned to take advantage of that, much to her delight — and disappointment. But Davenport's intentions aside, to be part of a case matches well with her level of curiosity. Lizzie now finds herself working undercover at a theatre as a seamstress. What seems to be petty threats at first becomes a whole different case altogether when one morning, Lizzie finds a corpse hanging upside down with its throat slashed.


With all the bravado that the author has written Lizzie as, she makes sure to include a weakness to her through her bravery, and I like that. Plus, that makes all the swoon-worthy moments between her and Davenport all the more significant~ The author has really planned the series of events well: when Lizzie discovers this information and that, how well they mould together without it getting too confusing even with the red herrings making their appearances. Having so many characters within the story while making sure they get the screen time they need is really tough, and it is through how smooth the flow of the story is that we see the author's prowess in her craft. I was a little overwhelmed at the beginning, but when she begins to narrow down, helping the readers know who are of significance in the story, that's when I start to appreciate everything about this book. I even like Ma and the other girls living with Lizzie, somehow, and I'm just glad that our protagonist's circumstance is not entirely bad. Even if it is, I can see Lizzie overcoming all the obstacles. The strength in her heart and soul will help her heal eventually even as she comes out of it battered.


I am most definitely looking forward to the next installment! Hopefully, Lizzie and Davenport's romance will develop even more. I've got to admit I love the subtle hints of their feelings for each other though, so even if they don't get together by the next book, I won't grumble. *winks* In the meantime, I'm going to try getting my hands on the first book!


This review is written based on the ARC provided by the publisher through Netgalley. This book can be read as a standalone.

0 comments
bottom of page