top of page
  • Writer's pictureElaine

The Little Vintage Carousel by the Sea by Jaimie Admans


 

★ ★ ★ ★ ★


I have been waiting so long for this moment when I can finally say that I've found a new 5-stars read!


Imagine going on the train during the morning rush. It's all crowded, and everyone's sweaty from the hot weather outside. You're feeling all miserable, having to go through the crush every morning to get to a job you don't particularly like. But then you see someone. There's a man. He looks up from his phone, makes eye contact with you, and smiles, with dimples and all, and you find your mood take a quick turn for the better. Sounds impossible? Well, Jaimie Admans has made it possible. She even made it possible for two strangers to meet like that and fall in love.


From the very moment they began talking to each other, I could already tell that Ness and Nathan would make the perfect couple. I couldn't stop smiling throughout, and having read a continuous array of serious books, this really made my whole being feel a load lighter.


And oh, Nathan, Nathan. He made me swoon all the time by how adorable he can be! His shyness, his nervous ramblings and clumsiness, I would take it all any time. Ness is a lucky woman to have him. And to have them both complement each other, bringing out only the best is amazing; even if their actions or words weren't the best, they made each other feel it was okay. Admans also added in a few more surprises into this romance, and I love them all. How original is it, to have a story revolve around a carousel!


That said, a romance novel can never be complete without a few hiccups. The one in this reminded me of Admans' previous book 'It's A Wonderful Night', but I felt the mistake the heroine made was handled a lot better here. The author took the time to smooth things out between the couple, and gave them the happily ever after they deserved. Honestly, I actually hoped that Zinnia would end up being reprimanded for giving the green light towards something that was totally an outrage of privacy. Or something. Heh. But things are good the way the author wrote the book, and I wouldn't have it any other way.


One cannot help but learn a thing or two about a particular wisdom in life: you should never let anyone make you feel inferior with the thing you love.


Thank you so, so much to HQ Digital for the ARC I received from Netgalley. This was a wonderful ride, and I'm definitely looking forward to reading this author's next book!

0 comments
bottom of page