top of page
  • Writer's pictureElaine

The Secrets of Meadow Farmhouse by Katie Ginger


 

★ ★ ★ ★ ★


Ah, finally! A 5-star romance read! I really enjoyed this from beginning to end, always eager to pick up where I last stopped. I'm not usually one to like second-chance romances, but this is awesome. I love Amelia and Adam, and the chemistry they share.


There has been a lot of romance books involving women going to another country then finding new love. They'd love the new environment, something entirely different from the hustle and bustle of the city; they'd fall in love with the people, friendlier than those you can find in the city. And from there, they'd decide that this was the place for them, and it wasn't only their newly found partner that was the reason. The Secrets of Meadow Farmhouse is a little similar. Amelia moved from Paris to the English countryside. The main difference is that she was going home.


To read about Amelia falling in love with not only Adam all over again, but also where she grew up, was heartwarming. Here, she began to learn more about herself. I would have to say that the majority was of her doing some soul-searching and learning about her family history, and that the romance portion was more of a sub-plot, but that didn't break the story at all. I really enjoyed it, but it might not be for those looking for a more romance-focus book. I liked the process where Amelia slowly learnt about her great-aunt Vera. It was exhilarating, learning about it together with her. We do have a prologue that gives us readers a hint of what it is, but I wasn't prepared at all for what came. Then we have the build-up for the second-chance romance. It was so... for a lack of a better word, pure. Just these two characters in their late twenties having insecurities and having questions and being confused, all of that. I love it. No huge drama. Whatever misunderstanding was dealt with maturely and peacefully. I was reading a story about two very realistic characters. And wow, that character development!


The only thing I didn't like was some strange grammar. For example,


As she took a moment to watch the heart of village life beat before her, she realised they had always been there, but she'd buried them under the easier to remember more unpleasant ones.

I really hope to read more of this author's books. Also a note to myself: I should find random books on the library app more often.

0 comments
bottom of page