top of page
  • Writer's pictureElaine

Ignite Your Light by Jolene Hart


 

★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆


As someone who's interested in learning ways on how a person could improve their own emotional well-being, this book definitely pulled me in, which was why I requested it on Netgalley in the first place. There are lots of methods the author has written about, from music to food (and there are multiple interesting recipes listed within) to crystals and many other things one can do to keep the positive energy and vibration going throughout the day. Jolene Hart gets quite personal as well, going through different questions with answers of her own that prompts readers themselves to fill up themselves.


Sadly, I had to read this in the PDF format, which means that everything is in a huge mess. I don't usually do this, marking an ARC down because of its format (although if I could, I would avoid PDF files at all cost as it really ruins my reading experience while I try not to let it affect my review), but in this case, there are pictures and beautiful fonts of different colours used. And you can imagine how it'd look in the PDF format on Kindle: a big, big mess. Super tiny pictures; fonts and their illustrations to make them look fancy skewed. They are supposed to make readers enjoy reading it more, but it just didn't work out. It's apparent that the publisher did nothing about this formatting before sending it to Netgalley. It's terrible. It stressed me out.


And boy, oh boy, does this ARC have lots of missing letters. Instead of 'off', I'm only left with an 'o'. Or 'offer', becomes 'oer'. I honestly have no idea what happened to all the 'f's. It might be lost with all the skewed designs. Maybe it's in a different font? I have no idea. But that also ruined my experience. It kept mentioning a 'refer to page TK', and I absolutely have no idea what page TK means. So I'm really left confused.


One last tragedy: there is not a single citation or reference to all the studies Jolene Hart herself has mentioned. Just writing out 'One study shows...' does not help in trying to convince the skeptics at all. If I were one of them, I would have rated this a 1 star. But since I did enjoy the content to a certain extent, 3 stars it is. With citations, I would have enjoyed this even more, as reading further is something I would have loved to do with topics like those mentioned by the author.


I really hope that this book gets a proper edit. With citations.


This review is written based on the ARC provided by the publisher through Netgalley.

0 comments
bottom of page